Author Archives: Sue Howell


The band will be striking up the music with patriotic and foot-tapping tunes of the period when they commemorate the D-Day landings on Thursday, June 6 in Congleton.

The award-winning band is marking the 80th anniversary of the day Allied forces swarmed over the Normandy beaches to begin the liberation of Europe after four years of war with Germany.

But the sound will be all that much sweeter if they can attract new players to the band - principally basses and trombones for the evening concert at the New Life Church.

The concert will be accompanied by video and photographs of the historic day screened behind the band with readings between the pieces of music.

"It will be will be great event for people to come along and will contain a lot of topical music to mark the anniversary," said a spokesperson for the band.

"We will be creating a street party family mood and asking people to bring along their drinks, food and flags to celebrate one of the most momentous days in history.

"We need new players and this will allow any potential recruits to visit us on the night

 and see the band in action."

The £10 tickets for the event are available from Congleton Information Centre, band members and from email

2023 Awards Evening

This year's awards evening was held on Saturday 22nd April along with a party buffet and quiz.

The Rode Hall Silver Band celebrated a number of major milestones, handing out our newly pressed Long Service badges issued to 5, 10, 20 and 30 year service players. The commitment individuals have shown to this band is outstanding and worthy of celebration, particularly our Chair, Victoria Sherwood, who has played for the band for 34 years and our Band Manager, Steve Twemlow, who has played non-stop for an incredible 42 years and received the great honour of becoming a 'Lifetime Member'! Thanks to all those who have committed so much time and effort to keep this band alive for over 186 years.

Here are a few photographs from the evening

Our new badges celebrating 5, 10, 20 and 30 years of service
Joseph Whitehurst was the very worthy recipient of our 'Most Improved Player'
Our Chairman, Vicky Sherwood, received the first ever badge recognising over 30 years playing in the band!

Other awards went to Dave Giannasi - band person of the year (including the Graham Tilley Cup); Thomas Conibere - best newcomer; Liam Mosedale - junior most improved player; Brian Rogers - band manager’s award

Long service awards were presented as follows:

5 years service - Donna Bates, Simon Greasby, Stephen Holdcroft, Sue Howell, Cari Latham, Steve Moore Steve Neville, Katharine Slater, Mike Walker and Emma Wild.

10 years service - Nick Brown, Nigel Butler, Charlotte Danford, Dave Giannasi, Mike McCann, Anna Whitehurst, Michael Whitehurst and Nick Wright

A very special 'Lifetime Member' award was presented to Steve Twemlow for 40 years service! Pictured here with Vicky Sherwood and Dave Giannasi

Many congratulations to all!